“Comp II class project overview”

      The class project assigned was to create a personal word press site in which we would post five hundred word summaries of our essays to. Included on the word press set was a link it to our class page the object being to generate site traffic. The first step was to create the word press site. Never having been introduced to word press, I had to familiarize myself with the site. After creating my word press I chose to link it to my personal Facebook page.  I chose face book as the social media profile in which to link it to because I already had many followers on this site. Face book would be the one to attract the most attention to my word press blog. Within the word press site posts I added a link, which if clicked on would then take people to the class project page. However the link was not pasted in multiple places nor was it easily accessible. People went to my word press site and read my posts but many never made it to the class project page, therefore I was unable to generate a large amount of site traffic.Reflecting back there are many ways in which I could improve the contributions I made to the class project, and also the quality of my word press blog. My word press site was too plain and not catchy to the public eye.  Now that I am more informed on how to use word press, I could make my page more eye catching by adding graphics and changing the text and colors to attract people to my page. Also I would put the link to the class page in multiple places to generate more traffic to our class page. If I would have posted more frequently on topics other than our class assignments, this could have gotten my page more viewers and also opened more opportunities to generate site traffic to the class page. Another thing that I would do differently would be to take advantage of the advertising of my page making the titles of my posts more interesting to drag people in. After the last post for the class assignment my word press will most likely be deleted because I have no further use of it.  From participating in the class project I have learned that you must put time and effort into a blog in order for it to be successful and popular.

Leave a comment